Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
When are taxes due?
Real Estate Taxes are due and payable in two installments each tax year: June 5 and December 5.
Personal Property Taxes are due on December 5.
Why did I receive this bill?
Per the Code of Virginia, tax bills are sent to the owner as of January 1 of the tax year. The Commissioner of the Revenue maintains property ownership records. To update ownership, please call (276)645-7316.
I never received my bill.
Per the Code of Virginia, tax bills are mailed to the address of record. The Treasurer’s Office subscribes to the National Change of Address Service on Personal Property bills. This ensures that your bill will be forwarded to you if you have filed a change of address. Taxpayers are responsible for updating their address with the Commissioner of the Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles, and the United States Postal Service. Non-receipt of tax bill does not relieve the taxpayer of the obligation of paying tax, penalty and interest.
What are my payment options?
You may pay at our office with cash, check, or money order. You may also mail your payment to our office or place your payment in the night deposit box. Credit or debit cards may be done online or by phone at 1-877-260-7807. Card payments are handled by a third-party service, Paymentus, and a 2.39% convenience fee is charged.
What happens if my payment is late?
Per the Code of Virginia, 10% penalty is added to your account the day after the due date and 10% interest begins accruing annually. A $30 administrative fee will also be added to all delinquent accounts on January 5 following the due date. Delinquent bills are mailed in January. Collection action then begins on February 15 for any accounts not paid in full. Collection action can include wage liens, bank liens, or DMV stops. Any or all of these collection methods will be used to satisfy your tax obligation to the City of Bristol, Virginia.
Why have I received a bank lien/wage lien?
Code of Virginia §58.1-3919 requires the Treasurer, after the due date of any taxes, notify each person who has not paid prior to that time of their delinquency. Upon failure or refusal of such person to pay the tax, the Treasurer must proceed to collect the taxes by distress or otherwise including, but not limited to, Bank Liens, Wage Liens, or DMV Stops.
My Real Estate Taxes are delinquent. When can my home be sold for the taxes due?
Per Virginia Code §58.1-3965, property valued at $100,000 or less may be sold at auction at 1 year delinquent on December 31. Property valued over $100,000 may be sold at auction at 2 years delinquent on December 31.
Personal Property Taxes:
I sold/traded my vehicle during the tax year.
Bristol, Virginia does not prorate taxes. If the vehicle was owned on January 1 of the taxing year, the taxes are due and payable for the full year. If you did not own the vehicle on January 1, please contact the Commissioner of the Revenue (276)645-7316.
I moved out of Bristol during the tax year.
Bristol, Virginia does not prorate taxes. If the vehicle was owned on January 1 of the taxing year in the city limits, the taxes are due and payable for the full year. If you did not own the vehicle on January 1, please contact the Commissioner of the Revenue (276)645-7316.
I paid taxes when I purchased the vehicle.
Personal property taxes are paid annually based on the assessed value of the property. Sales taxes are paid when the property is registered in the jurisdiction where the property is to be garaged and is paid once.
I have a DMV Stop. How can I get this released?
To release the hold with the DMV, all delinquent personal property taxes under your DMV Customer Number must be paid. The DMV’s system will link you with all vehicles you are a cosigner on. Please check for delinquencies pertaining to cosigners also.
Real Estate Taxes:
I sold my property during the tax year.
Per the Code of Virginia, tax bills are sent to the owners of the property as of January 1 of the taxing year. The proration of taxes at the point of sale is a private agreement between the buyer and seller. If you wish, you may forward the bill to the new owner.
My real estate taxes are paid through my mortgage.
Per the Code of Virginia, tax bills are sent to the owners of the property as of January 1 of the taxing year. The Treasurer’s office does not have your mortgage company information and does not send the bill directly to the mortgage company. It is the responsibility of the mortgage company to request tax information from each locality. They may contact us for the information or they may go online.
We do suggest contacting your mortgage company to ensure they will be paying the total amount due.
Is there any relief or discount available based on income, age, etc.?
The Commissioner of Revenue awards discounts. You must contact (276)645-7316.
City Pet License Tags:
Do I need a tag for my cat?
Yes. All dogs and cats in the Commonwealth of Virginia must have a current year’s license tag.
What do I need to purchase a pet tag?
We will need the current rabies vaccination certificate for your pet. Spayed/Neutered Dogs or Cats are $2 each. Intact Dogs or Cats are $4 each.
My pet never goes outside. Do I still need a tag?
Yes. All dogs and cats are required to have a pet license tag. Per the Code of Virginia, this is to ensure that all pets are receiving the required rabies vaccination. This also helps our Animal Control Officers reunite you and your pet in the event they were to become lost.